Aug 11 2017
11

Review for Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 11 Comments

Review for Silent Child by Sarah A. DenzilSilent Child by Sarah A. Denzil
Published by Amazon Digital Services on January 22nd 2017
Genres: Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
Pages: 416
Format: Kindle
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son’s red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year – a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned.

His body was never recovered.

Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She’s married, pregnant, and in control again...

... until Aiden returns.

Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken.

As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime?

It's Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable.

This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden.

I read the blurb for this and knew that I had to read it, because I wanted to know to who behind Aidens disappearance. Silent Child is every parents worst nightmare, having your child kidnapped and never knowing what happened to them. But in Silent Child, the boy comes back 10 years later and to find the answers to where he has been is the most important thing to his Mother.

Emma was a young mother, barely out of high school when she had Aiden, and losing him during the flood broke her. Emma had began to put her life back together, she’s remarried, and was expecting a baby, when Aiden comes home. I personally couldn’t imagine going through something like this, and following poor Emma through all of this was heartbreaking. She wants to connect with Aiden so badly, but with him not talking to her for anyone for that matter, it gets harder and harder for her everyday. She never gives up though. Emma’s new husband Jake, seemed to really care for Emma and their baby on the way, but was a little uneasy with Aiden. I can understand that, he doesn’t talk and doesn’t want to be touched in any way, he just sits and watches t.v. and does nothing else. But, no one know what this poor boy has been through either. So, Jake did kinda annoy me at times with some of the things he did and said when it came to Aiden and Emma.

Aiden’s father Rob, well he was a piece of work at first. He was loud, and kinda obnoxious in my opinion. But, I guess he really did have Aidens best interest in mind, he just went about it all the wrong way. I did end up liking a little more as the story moved on and I could see why he was the way he was. Rob’s parents were kinda the same way as Rob but it was clear they loved their grandson, and would do anything to help him. There were a couple of other side characters that helped Emma, Aiden and Rob along the way and they were great. Overall, I liked most of the characters and some not so much, but I won’t give away anymore than that.

From the start this was creepy, there were little hints dropped here and there, and most that didn’t add up till the end. I think I pretty much question just about everyone but Emma on who took Aiden. Oh yeah, I Did Not See That All!! Not who I thought… It was certainly a thrill ride and there is a few graphic scenes towards the end, so I thought I warn you. Fans of thrillers and suspense will enjoy this one for sure.

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

11 Responses to “Review for Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil”

  1. RO

    I really enjoy suspense novels that keep you guessing until the end. I just can’t imagine losing a child, then having him come back, and to see the trauma he suffered. Loved your review! Hugs…

  2. Heidi

    This sounds like a good one. I am worried though about the graphic scenes. I have read several lately that have been a bit too dark.

  3. verushka

    This is such an intense premise — and I like that the author has such a good handle on the cast of characters, making each well-rounded.

Leave a Reply