Aug 18 2017
13

Review for Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles Trilogy #1) by Jodi Meadows

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 13 Comments

Review for Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles Trilogy #1) by Jodi MeadowsBefore She Ignites by Jodi Meadows
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on September 12th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 496
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

From the New York Times bestselling co-author of My Lady Jane comes a smoldering new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore about a girl condemned for defending dragons and the inner fire that may be her only chance of escape.

Mira has always been a symbol of hope for the Fallen Isles, perfect and beautiful—or at least that’s how she’s forced to appear. But when she uncovers a dangerous secret, Mira is betrayed by those closest to her and sentenced to the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles.

Except Mira is over being a pawn. Fighting to survive against outer threats and inner demons of mental illness, Mira must find her inner fire and the scorching truth about her own endangered magic—before her very world collapses.

And that’s all before she ignites.

Before She Ignites is the first book in a new series. It centers around Mira, a young girl who has always loved dragons, and when she learns that they are being smuggled off the island, she confronts those responsible. On;y she is thrown in the pit. An awful place where the council only sends the worst of the worst. She has been betrayed. Before She Ignites will open your mind to a beautiful world filled with gorgeous islands, magic but a place where politics and betrayals overshadow the beauty.

Mira isn’t a perfect girl, she has her flaws. She suffers from anxiety attacks, she has OCD, meaning she counts, everything. I felt for and understand her pain. It is something very hard to overcome, and with everything else that is happening, the betrayal to the incarceration it makes it worse. Meadows did a good job with Mira and her mental health issue and how she handled it. Mira’s characters when through a lot of growth, and yes she has some to go but I think she is a pretty strong girl for everything she went through.

There are a couple of other characters that I would like to mention, but I won’t give too much away. There are a couple of inmates that met in the prison, they played such an important role for Mira and I liked them so much. Now her bodyguard/best friend, he was freaking awesome. And I was hoping he was the “love interest”. But…. All the characters from the council to Mira’s parents all their own roles to play.

This is a fascinating world, and the culture sounded beautiful, but I do wish we would have gotten more details of the history. It is the first book, so I’m sure there will be more world building in the future books, so I didn’t let it bother me. With quite a few islands, and different Gods, each very different, to the magic on each of the islands, it will be interesting to learn more about them all as the series continues. Now, in this first book, there are flash back between the past and the present, so that helped to give some insight into Mira’s life and some of things that was going on and events that led up to them. It did get pretty intense toward the end and the ending left me wanting for more.

Overall, while I did have a little bit of an issue with the world building, the character building and story itself was quite intriguing. And I am pretty excited to get to more about the dragons too. I think this will be a great series for who are fans young adult fantasy’s for sure.

 

 

Review for Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles Trilogy #1) by Jodi Meadows @jodimeadows… Click To Tweet

 

 

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

13 Responses to “Review for Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles Trilogy #1) by Jodi Meadows”

  1. Christy LoveOfBooks

    I have this, but haven’t been in the mood to read it yet. I enjoyed her other first series, so I have a feeling I’ll like this too. Too bad about the world building, though. Hopefully it is explored more.

  2. Melliane

    Despite some points on the worldbuilding it sounds like an interesting novel. I heard a lot about this author but I don’t think I’ve tried any of her books.

  3. Kim @ Book Swoon

    I have this coming up to read and I’m so happy to see it ended up being a strong start to the Fallen Isles series!! Hopefully, the world building will be fleshed out more in future books but overall it sounds wonderful. Wonderful review, Jenea!! (:

  4. Greg

    Beautiful cover on this one, love the two moons. I like the sound of the islands, and the anxiety/ OCD rep as well. Great review Jenea.

  5. Lola

    I hadn’t heard of this one before, but it does sound great with the dragons and the magical world. That’s great to hear the mental illness was handled well in this book. I like it when characters have flaws, it makes them feel more realistic. Great review!

  6. verushka

    The thing that sticks out for me in your review is the focus on her mental health — i did not expect this of this book, and I’m pleasantly surprised at that.

  7. Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    With Mira’s issues, I can imagine that being sent to the pit could send her into a tailspin. And I’m intrigued by those she meets in the prison. Sounds like a pretty good start to the series.

  8. Lauren

    I’ve been really looking forward to this one so I’m happy to here you enjoyed it. Mira sounds like a great character, and I’m interested to see how Jodi handles her mental health issues. Plus I’m so looking forward to the dragons! Great review! 🙂

Leave a Reply