Sep 04 2017
11

Review for Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 11 Comments

Review for Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle GeorgeSpeak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George
Published by Greenwillow Books on September 19th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Fiction, Retellings
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

 
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.
 
After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer. Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.
 
Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

 

 

 

 

I had a 5th grade teacher who loved Shakespeare so we read a lot of his work, and this being a retelling of Much Ado About Nothing made me so curious about it and the era of time is one of my favorites. So, Speak Easy, Speak Love was a fantastic and fun read for me.

Beatrice has been sent to live with her Uncle who happens to run a speakeasy in the basement of his home, which she did not know about till she got there. Since the speakeasy isn’t doing so good, her new found friend Hero and cousin has the idea to throw a big party to see if they would be able to save it. So much happens in this book, I really don’t even know where to begin. WE get the glitz and glam of the 1920’s, the dresses and jewelry to parties and shootings. Needless to say it full of action, non stop there was something going on. But I really believe that characters are made this book. The chapters alternate between them giving the chance to learn a little bit about them, and that just made me adore them even more.

Hey Nonny Nonny might have been the home of the speakeasy but it was so much more than that. It was home for these 6 teens who might not be family by blood, but that didn’t mean they weren’t family in every sense of the word. The bickered and fought, they laughed and cried but always had each others back. With in this group there are the couples of course, and one in particular I absolutely adored. Beatrice and Benedict, only they fought it from the start. Their banter back and forth kept me smiling and snickering at them and wondering which one would finally just give in.

Now Hero, who is the owner of Hey Nonny Nonny’s daughter, jeez what can I say about her. She was one those friends I would want in my corner that’s for sure. But then there was Maggie, and she was so sweet, and I wanted to help her make her dream come true. There are so many more that I want to tell you about, but I won’t give any more away, Honestly, I couldn’t tell who I adored more, I was just so captivated by all of them in one way or another. I was kinda sad when I realized that I had reached the end but it was such a great ending, and I was happy that it did end the way it did.

Speak Easy, Speak Love had it all. A story that kept me turning the pages as fast as I could, a setting in an era that completely fascinates me, characters that I enjoyed. Fans of retellings will devour this one especially Shakespeare fans. Pick this one.

 

 

 
Review for Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George @McKelleGeorge @GreenwillowBook @harperteen Click To Tweet
 

 

 

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

11 Responses to “Review for Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George”

  1. RO

    I love when an author is clever enough to put a neat spin on Shakespeare because it’s a great way to pull young people into the classics. I don’t normally read YA, but I would definitely snag this one up. Hugs and Happy Labor Day Jenea! RO

  2. Lover Of Romance

    oh just saying “much ado about nothing” has me hooked. I LOVE everything Shakepeare and that play is my favorite. So many great things about it. And the movie adaption is pretty good too. Will need to pick it up.

  1. The Sunday Post #9 |

    […] Monday: Review for Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George   Tuesday: Monday: Mini Reviews for Stars in Their Eyes by Pema Donyo & Goodbye, Good […]

Leave a Reply