Sep 12 2017
7

Review for House Of Shadows by Nicola Cornick

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 7 Comments

Review for House Of Shadows by Nicola CornickHouse Of Shadows by Nicola Cornick
Published by MIRA on October 17, 2017
Genres: Adult, Historical, Mystery
Pages: 351
Format: Kindle
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

London, 1662:

There was something the Winter Queen needed to tell him. She fought for the strength to speak.‘The crystal mirror is a danger. It must be destroyed – ‘He replied instantly. ‘It will’.

Ashdown, Oxfordshire, present day: Ben Ansell is researching his family tree when he disappears. As his sister Holly begins a desperate search, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to an ornate antique mirror and to the diary of Lavinia, a 19th century courtesan who was living at Ashdown House when it burned to the ground over 200 years ago.

Intrigued, and determined to find out more about the tragedy at Ashdown, Holly’s only hope is that uncovering the truth about the past will lead her to Ben.

For fans of Barbara Erskine and Kate Morton comes an unforgettable novel about three women and the power one lie can have over history

 

 

 

 

The House of Shadows takes us through a story of three women, from three different times who have many things things in common even though they have never met. How could this not draw your attention, it certainly had mine.

The story is give to us from the 16th and 18th century and the present, and from these times we meet these very strong women. They might have come from these very different times, but have a lot more in common than you would think. The historical aspects of each time period were vividly described, especially Ashdown, but being that I an mot all that familiar with the 1600’s nor the 1800’s I did have a little bit of difficulty getting a handle on some of things. The power struggles, politics, played a large part through out the centuries. The ornate mirror, and the pearl that held some sort of dark magical powers and how they were part of each of the womens lives was the most interesting most of this for me.

The 3 main characters, Elizabeth, Lavinia and Holly were some strong women for their times. There was so much to learn about Elizabeth and Lavinia, what was expected of them, how to act, to carry themselves. We did get to know their loves and romances, hopes and theirs fears too. But I felt like there was something missing that I just couldn’t put my finger on, and I think because of this, I found myself feeling more connected with Holly. Despite not being able to connect Elizabeth and Lavinia, I was impressed with the way Cornick wove all the stories of these women together and it did keep me turning the pages to see how everything worked out.

I have to admit, this was a little out of my comfort zone with the eras of times, and I really wished I had been able to enjoy those parts so much more. Overall, I did enjoy it, and it ended up being a pretty good read. I believe that fans of historical fiction will devour this one, especially for those who adore this era of time.

 

 

 

Review for House Of Shadows by Nicola Cornick @NicolaCornick @HarperCollins #historical #romance Click To Tweet

 

 

 

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

7 Responses to “Review for House Of Shadows by Nicola Cornick”

  1. Kristin @ Addicted to HEA

    I’m with you, I would have been too confused. Of course, this type of story is out of my comfort zone, too but I would have been too chicken to try. Great job on your review!! At least you tried something different 🙂

Leave a Reply