Oct 05 2017
30

Review for The Missing by C.L. Taylor

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 30 Comments

Review for The Missing by C.L. TaylorThe Missing by C.L. Taylor
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks on November 7th 2017
Genres: Adult, Psychological Thriller, Mystery
Pages: 496
Format: Kindle
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

In this harrowing psychological thriller about a missing teenage boy whose mother must expose the secrets within their own family if she wants to find her son—perfect for fans of Reconstructing Amelia.

You love your family. They make you feel safe. You trust them. Or do you…?

When fifteen-year-old Billy Wilkinson goes missing in the middle of the night, his mother, Claire Wilkinson, blames herself. She’s not the only one. There isn’t a single member of Billy’s family that doesn’t feel guilty. But the Wilkinsons are so used to keeping secrets from one another that it isn’t until six months later, after an appeal for information goes horribly wrong, that the truth begins to surface.

Claire is sure of two things—that Billy is still alive and that her friends and family had nothing to do with his disappearance.

A mother’s instinct is never wrong. Or is it…?

Combining an unreliable narrator and fast-paced storytelling, The Missing is a chilling novel of psychological suspense that will thoroughly captivate and obsess readers.

The Missing has a delicious sense of foreboding from the first page, luring us into the heart of a family with terrible secrets and making us wait, with pounding hearts for the final, agonizing twist. Loved it.”—Fiona Barton, author of The Widow

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Missing is a psychological thriller and where our story begins is six months after 15 year old Billy Wilkinson goes missing in the middle of the night from his home. There has been plenty of media coverage, but nothing has turned up. Billy’s mother Claire gets more anxious by the day, she feels the pole aren’t doing enough. So, she starts to look for clues on her own. Not knowing that she might uncover secrets that rivals with things nightmares are made of.

Claire is just like most mothers, she is juggling work, kids, a husband and a home. Her world was turned upside down when her son went missing, she stay at home now, rarely leaving the house, she is consumed by her missing son. Her husband is pretty much the same, but he does manage to go to work and tries to keep on moving. Their older son, is withdrawn even more than was before Bill went missing. His girlfriend was quiet and tried to keep to her self, not upsetting the already turmoil filled home. Taylor’s portrayal of this family was spot on, their emotions were very evident. This poor family has been through so much, it wasn’t hard to feel for them. But at the same time, I wasn’t sure about them not having anything to do with the boys disappearance.

This is told from Claire’s point of view, and Claire was a pretty unreliable narrator as is was, so I was leery of each of the immediate family and some side characters as well, it was hard to know who was trustworthy and who wasn’t. Add in the dialog of some explicit messages between two people who we only know their screen names, and it was clear they were up to no good, that just added to the suspicion of, well, everyone. I don’t know how many times I changed my mind on who the two were. There are so many little twist thrown in, that it was hard to make up my mind what happened to Billy, was he taken or did her just leave? Especially what was going on with this family. That’s how I like my psychological thrillers, keep me guessing till the end. And it was certainly a surprise! I had to give up all the ideas that I had about pretty much everything. It was great!

The Missing wasn’t just a mystery of a boys disappearance, it was also about what a mother will do for her child. This brought up how sometimes social media and this risks it can bring, and I think that part was handled very well. This is definitely one of those books that will stick with you long after you finish.

 

 

 

Taylor gives us a chilling tale. Review for The Missing by C.L. Taylor @callytaylor @Morrow_PB… Click To Tweet

 

 

 

 

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

30 Responses to “Review for The Missing by C.L. Taylor”

  1. Suzanne @ The Bookish Libra

    I’m always so hit and miss when it comes to unreliable narrators. Sometimes I love them and sometimes they make me want to give up on a book. This one sounds good though. I especially like the way it incorporates the dangers of social media into the story. Always such a relevant topic to cover. Great review!

  2. verushka

    I like that the author managed to make you empathise with characters AND suspect them at this same time! Mark of an excellent thriller! And, lovely review — you’ve introduced me to a new author too.

  3. Vanessa

    Wow. This sounds really good Jenea. I like that it wasn’t just mystery but it also added a touching family aspect as Claire will do anything for her child.

  4. Wattle

    I’m not a huge fan of thrillers but this one sound quite good, especially with adding social media to the mix. Unreliable narrators can be pretty interesting too (they certainly add another element to stories), glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  5. Naomi Hop

    Wow Jenea! This sounds like it was done well! It kept you guessing and so many things had you changing your mind. Good to see that it will stick with you!

Leave a Reply