Jan 12 2018

Review for Vanishing Girls (Detective Josie Quinn #1) by Lisa Regan

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 9 Comments

Review for Vanishing Girls (Detective Josie Quinn #1) by Lisa ReganVanishing Girls (Detective Josie Quinn #1) by Lisa Regan
Published by Bookouture on January 17th 2018
Genres: Adult, Fiction, Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 334
Format: Kindle
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon

She was close enough to see that the girl had written a word on the wall in bright, warm red blood. Not a word, actually. A name…

Everyone in the small American town of Denton is searching for Isabelle Coleman, a missing seventeen-year-old girl. All they’ve found so far is her phone and another girl they didn’t even know was missing.

Mute and completely unresponsive to the world around her, it’s clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Detective Josie Quinn can get from her is a name: Ramona.

Currently suspended from the force for misconduct, Josie takes matters into her own hands as the name leads her to evidence linking the two girls. She knows the race is on to find Isabelle alive, and she fears there may be others…

The trail leads Josie to another victim, a girl who escaped but whose case was labelled a hoax by authorities. To catch this monster, Josie must confront her own nightmares and follow her instinct to the darkest of places. But can she make it out alive?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Helen Fields and Robert Dugoni will be utterly gripped and sleeping with the lights on once they discover the first in this unputdownable new crime thriller series.





Not that long ago I read Finding Claire Fletcher, and enjoy it quite a bit, so when I saw that Regan had a new series coming out, I of course I had to read it too. I am a sucker for the thrillers that include the police procedurals in it too. The Vanishing Girls is the first of three books in the Detective Josie Quinn Series. This one centers around a small town named Denton, where young girls seem to be going missing at an alarming rate. It seems that like they just disappear, no clue of what happened to them, that is until one day one of those girls just appears. She doesn’t talk, so there is no way to tell where she’s been, who might have taken her or even how she managed to escape. But there is one determined police officer who is set herself on a course to find the most recent missing girl and uncover what happened to the girl who turned up.

Josie Quinn is on the local police department’s force, she has been put on suspension of which we do learn about later on. But for now, she isn’t taking the suspension very well. That might be because her life is in disarray as it is. On top of being suspended, she’s going to through a divorce and her Grandmother whom she loves dearly is in the hospital. There is one bright spot for her, she is engaged to a great man. Now, Josie is one stubborn, hard headed woman, and not matter what anyone tells her, she is going to find out what is going on in their town. I found Josie to be one of those women I would certainly want to have on my side. She might not always think first before acting, but she does get results.

The cast of characters other than Josie was rather large. There are a lot players in the game, I’m not going to give away to much about them. Other than to say, that with so many people the suspect pool is filled with some questionable people. Ones that were supposed to have Josie’s back might not have had the best intentions. Or did they? Were they truly trying to help or prevent her from finding the truth? As little clues piling up, and following Jose while she trying to put them all together was intense. The danger she found herself kept on mounting and the suspense kept building right up to the very end. It was a reveal that I was really didn’t see coming. Everything that learned along the way came into question! This was serious twisted happening going on in such a small town.

For this being the first in the series, it was definitely a great start. I enjoyed the characters, even though there were some I truly wanted to hate, because they were horrid but they played their parts quite well. The pacing was fast and suspenseful and the mystery definitely kept me guessing. I am curious to see where Regan take Josie Quinn next in The Girl With No Name, that comes out in April. I think that fans of the thriller/mystery genre will enjoy this one. I know I did!


Looking for a mystery that draws you in and keeps you guessing, I think you'll want to check this one out. for Vanishing Girls (Detective Josie Quinn #1) by Lisa Regan @Lisalregan @bookouture #adult #thriller #suspense #mystery Click To Tweet




Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

9 Responses to “Review for Vanishing Girls (Detective Josie Quinn #1) by Lisa Regan”

  1. Lauren

    This one sounds fantastic! I love thrillers, especially when there’s a lot of suspects. I’ll have to check it out. Great review! 🙂

  2. Karen Blue

    This sounds like something I would enjoy. I am especially interested since you said you didnt see that coming and it made you question what you just read. I love when that happens. Fantastic review!

  3. RO

    Sometimes it’s a little rough for me to get into books with a ton of characters, but I love a really good mystery that keeps me guessing. Happy Friday and Hugs…RO

  4. Wattle

    I don’t read many thrillers, but this one sounds like a great read! Especially because it kept you guessing, which is always fun. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  5. Melliane

    It’s great to hear you had a good time again with a new series like this one! Now I would be curious to see what you think of the sequel! I think it would be a book for me!

  6. verushka

    Small towns make the best settings I thing, especially if there are secrets upon secrets involved. I think Josie is the kind of heroine I would loveee to read about through a series — and you’ve given me enought o be curious about her past too.

Leave a Reply