Jan 19 2018
8

Review for Liars by Frances Vick

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 8 Comments

Review for Liars by Frances VickLiars by Frances Vick
Published by Bookouture on January 26th 2018
Genres: Adult, Psychological, Thriller
Pages: 436
Format: Kindle
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

He loves you. He’d do anything for you. But you don’t even know him.

Jenny hasn’t had an easy life – no job and no money, with a sick mother and an abusive ex-stepfather. Not that anybody cares, she’s from the wrong side of town.

David has taken care of Jenny ever since they were at school together. He knows how special she is, how much she needs his support. David has a lot of love to give.

Jenny and David aren’t in a relationship. They aren’t even friends.

Jenny thinks she’s free to do what she wants, see who she likes. What does David think? Well, you’ll have to find out.

A gripping psychological thriller about the lies we tell ourselves, perfect for fans of Friend Request, The Couple Next Door and Teresa Driscoll.

 

 

 

 

Liars starts off with an awful accident, Jenny’s mother has slipped on ice and dies during a snow storm and no one heard her cries for help. Later she was found dead. With rumors and lies, this story takes us on a roller coaster thrill ride.

Jenny has had a pretty rough childhood, and the things she has went through no child should have to go through either. I felt just awful for her, but she’s grown now, and has her best friend Freddie. With the death of her mother, he is right by her side, because she is upset of course over the loss. He does what he can to help her, but the police are also questioning if she had some kind of involvement. A mystery witness comes forward and put the suspicions to rest, but who is this mystery person? Jenny decides to make contact, and a friendship blossoms. And something a little more. David, for all appearance, is handsome and caring and came at the perfect time for Jenny. He was like her “knight in shining armor”. To her he was perfect. Freddie has been Jenny’s friend for a long time, and he has always looked out for her, so when he was a little leery of this new man in Jenny life though, so digs up what he can on him. What he found though!

Told in alternating POV’s from Jenny, Freddie and David, a little bit about each about each of them is learned a little at time, not too much though. Good to keep up guessing. Because as the story progresses, things from their pasts are revealed and the pieces we already know about them don’t fit, and questions start to form. What is going on? Who is David really? Is Jenny up to something? It’s clear there is some untruthfulness going on. But with who exactly? Which story being told it the truth? These are lies built off of uncovered betrayals, lie after lie and the story get more and more layer with them. Trying to unravel the lies was suspenseful and with such unreliable narrators, there was no telling who to trust, if any of them! Vick did an amazing job throwing in twists just when I thought I had it all figured out though. That one at the end was certainly a good one too.

Liars is one those psychological thrillers that messes with your mind and leaves you questioning everyone. Fans of the genre will love it!

 

 

Lies, Betrayals, So many questions in Liars... My Review for Liars by Frances Vick @franvicksays @Bookouture #adult #psychological #thriller #suspense #review #Liars #NetGalley Click To Tweet

 

 

 

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

8 Responses to “Review for Liars by Frances Vick”

  1. Heidi

    Oh yes, sounds like my kind of read! I love a good psychological thriller with lots of suspense and unreliable characters.

  2. Shane Morgan

    Oh my gosh! The way her mother died…that’s horrible. I’m still intrigued though, especially with this genre and stories that mess with your mind. Seems like a good one, and I like that it’s told in alternating POVs.

  3. Lover Of Romance

    You know everyone once in a while, this type of book can be good to read. That way you stay alert and don’t get complacent about life or the dangers that are REALLY out there. 🙂

  4. verushka

    Oh hello, new book I need right now! This sounds wonderfully complex in terms of characterisaton and I am loving that the author kept you guessing so!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.