Feb 18 2018
8

Review for Dark Lies (Detective Rhodes and Radley #1) by Nick Hollin

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 8 Comments

Review for Dark Lies (Detective Rhodes and Radley #1) by Nick HollinDark Lies previously named In the Blood (Detective Rhodes and Radley #1) by Nick Hollin
Published by Bookouture on March 26th 2018
Genres: Adult, Psychological, Thriller
Pages: 275
Format: Kindle
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Don’t trust your friends. Don’t trust your family. Don’t trust yourself…

The people of London fear for their lives when a twisted serial killer called The Cartoonist starts targeting young mothers, leaving their bodies on display in their homes with speech bubbles drawn from their lips. He has a terrifying story to tell, but first, the right people need to be listening…

Nathan Radley has a brilliant and dangerous talent. Formerly one of the best criminal psychologists on the police force he’s renowned for getting deep into the minds of the murderers he hunts. But for the past year he has lived in isolation, haunted by this gift and his own dark desires.

DI Katie Rhodes’ career is spinning out of control. She’d sworn never to knock on her old partner Nathan’s door again, but when she sees his distinctive birthmark drawn in chocolate on one of the victims, she knows she doesn’t have a choice. As the body count rises and the clues become more and more personal, Katie and Nathan join forces for one final case together.

Why is The Cartoonist using Katie and Nathan’s own dark secrets as calling cards on his victims? What does he want, and how many more innocent lives will be taken before they can crack his disturbing riddle?

To find a murderer, first you need to think like a murderer. The Cartoonist doesn’t just know this, he’s counting on it…

An absolutely nail-biting serial killer thriller perfect for anyone who loved the twisted mind games in Hannibal. Fans of M.J. Arlidge, Helen Fields and Rachel Abbott will not want to miss this page-turning debut!

 

 

 

 

This is the first installment in the Detective Rhodes and Radley series. It follows the lives of a detective and a criminal psychologist and we’re dropped right into a gruesome murder case, that leads them into some dangerous situations.

Detective Katie Rhodes has been on a downward spiral for a while now because of a previous case. A new case has come up and a few of the details have caught her attention. She believes these murders have something to with her and her old partner Nathan. The problem is, he is in seclusion and has been for almost a year. She is desperate for his gift to get deep into the minds of murderer, and maybe they would be able to solve them.

Nathan Radley has a brilliant mind when it comes to the psyche of criminals. To be able to think as if he was in their shoes, seeing crimes through their eyes. I think at some point the lines were blurred for him, I could see how he would start to question himself and some of his thoughts. He’s unshaven, hasn’t spoken to anyone in a year, he acts aloof. So, Katie even had her doubts about him, once these new murders have taken place. The clues did point to him, so I even wondered if he’d given into the dark thoughts.

The story is filled with dark and gruesome murders and they were just heart breaking for the families left behind. There are little things found during the investigations that link the murders somehow to both Katie and Nathan and they keep coming up, and with Nathan being so mysterious still, I have to admit I was starting to think he might have been involved in someway, but I was happy when the story took a different turn. Away from him atleast, but now the question still remained, who is murdering these women, and why? And how do they link with Katie and Nathan? While we learn more about Katie and Nathan and their pasts, pieces start to fall in place and suspense builds, twists pop up at all the right places and it kept me turning the pages right up till the last page! What an ending!

It’s a fantastic start to the series and I am looking forward to more from Katie and Nathan and to see what new case might land on their desk next. Dark Lies (previously named In the Blood) was a dark and twisted psychological thriller that can’t be missed.

 

 

A new dark and twisted psychological thriller! Review for Dark Lies (Detective Rhodes and Radley #1) by Nick Hollin @vonmaraus @Bookouture #DarkLies(detectiveRhodesAndRadleyCrimeSeriesBook1) #NetGalley #adult #psychological #mystery… Click To Tweet

 

 

 

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

8 Responses to “Review for Dark Lies (Detective Rhodes and Radley #1) by Nick Hollin”

  1. verushka

    Oh my, I am intrigued by Nathan and his gift! What a dark gift this must be — and definitely, it would mess with his head to need to become a recluse — the ending huh? You have my attention!!

Leave a Reply