May 21 2018
21

Review for Something In The Water by Catherine Steadman

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 21 Comments

Review for Something In The Water by Catherine SteadmanSomething In The Water by Catherine Steadman
Published by Random House Large Print Publishing on June 5th 2018
Genres: Adult, Psychological, Thriller
Pages: 480
Format: Kindle
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut--for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.
 
 

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?

 
Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .
&nbbsp;

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

 
Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .
 

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

 
Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman's enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we're tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

 

 

 

 
Something in the Water starts out with a bang, a narrator telling us how hard it is to bury a body. It was definitely a great setup foe the book!

Erin Locke and Mark Roberts are engaged, planning a big wedding but some events get in the way of that and money becomes an issue. Erin been granted acces to a few inmates to document their journey inside and after release for her documentary. Mark is an investment banker, but this isn’t exactly a good time in the market. The market is crashing and jobs are scarce. In the end, they proceed with the wedding and the fabulous honeymoon they had planned, just a little bit short one though. Bora Bora for two lucious weeks sounds like a good one to me. I have to say, I really liked these two, even if they weren’t great at communicating. They were newly weds, so I figured they’d get better at it.

There are a few other people that I just have to mention. The people that she as following for her documentary had a way getting under your skin. I think their parts were an interesting addition to this. Made me curious if they had anything to do with what all was going on during all the events.

Now on to what the story was about. During a scuba dive, they come across a mysterious bag, it’s padlocked. Once they get it open back on land, they believe the contents will change their lives, and maybe some terrible trouble too. The bad has to belong to someone, who might come looking for it. It’s at this point the suspense starts to build with secrets and events that will send chills down your spine, but you have to keep reading reading to find out what happens. And that is exactly what I did too, I could’t Turn the pages fast enough. We know that Erin is burying someone at the beginning of the book, but the wh is the question, and the why is slowly revealed as the story progresses. I really want to tell you more about the story, but I don’t want to give anything more away. Ugh.

The ending was pretty great but certainly wasn’t what I expected. Steadman did a great job keeping me guessing all through out this one and definitely blindsided with that ending. Made for one amazing psychological thriller.

 

 

 

 

Engrossing. Heartbreaking. Inspirational... Review for Something In The Water by Catherine Steadman @catsteadman @randomhouse #adult #Psychological #thriller #fiction #arc #review Click To Tweet

 

 

 

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

21 Responses to “Review for Something In The Water by Catherine Steadman”

  1. Silvia

    Ok, I’m totally intrigued! Seriously, the title got my attention instantly, then the blurb really piqued my curiosity, and your review did the rest. I’m adding it to my TBR pile, thanks 😀

  2. verushka

    Inspirational? Did not expect that at all — you have me so curious now because I expected a more straightforward thriller, I guess?

  3. Cindy

    I have this one too from NetGalley and I will be reading it soon. Great review Jenea and I cannot wait to read this one.

  4. Angela

    I came across this one awhile ago and thought it sounded amazing! Glad it really worked out for you! Great review, it is always hard to review a thriller because you don’t want to give too much away.

  5. Sam@WLABB

    I love when an opening can grab me like that, but most importantly, it sounded like Steadman kept your attention. Great review!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.