Jun 19 2018
18

Review The High Season: A Novel by Judy Blundell

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 18 Comments

Review The High Season: A Novel by Judy Blundell

Review The High Season: A Novel by Judy BlundellThe High Season: A Novel by Judy Blundell
Published by Random House on May 22nd 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Women’s Fiction
Pages: 416
Format: Kindle
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

In a beach town overrun with vacationers and newly colonized by socialites, one woman goes to extreme lengths when the life she loves is upended. The ultimate summer read, this novel of money, class, and family is perfect for fans of Meg Wolitzer, Curtis Sittenfeld, and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney’s The Nest.

No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet village two ferry rides from the glitzier Hamptons, the house is Ruthie’s nest egg—the retirement account shared with her ex-husband, Mike, and the college fund for their teenage daughter, Jem. The catch? To afford the house, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year.

It’s Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what Jem calls “the summer bummer”: the family’s annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a “gorgeous satellite” stepson.

The widow of a blue-chip artist, in a world defined by luxury and ease, Adeline demonstrates an uncanny ability to help herself to Ruthie’s life. Is Adeline just being her fabulous self, or is she out to take what she wants?

When an eccentric billionaire, his wayward daughter, a coterie of social climbers, and Ruthie’s old flame are thrown into the mix, the entire town finds itself on the verge of tumultuous change. But as Ruthie loses her grasp on her job, her home, and her family, she discovers a new talent for pushing back. By the end of one unhinged, unforgettable summer, nothing will be the same—least of all Ruthie.

In a novel packed with indelible characters, crackling wit, and upstairs/downstairs drama, Judy Blundell emerges as a voice for all seasons—a wry and original storyteller who knows how the most disruptive events in our lives can twist endings into new beginnings.

“Sharply observed and beautifully written, The High Season is like a cold martini on a hot summer night: Refreshing and intoxicating at the same time.”—Janelle Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear

“Judy Blundell’s debut novel The High Season will hit the summer like a blazing comet of wit, poignancy, and lines that make one stop and sizzle with awe. I’m a fan of Judy Blundell for life!”—Mary Alice Monroe, New York Times bestselling author of Beach House Reunion

 

 

 

 
The High Season takes through Ruthie Beamish and her summer. Ruthie believes loves her house, her house and her daughter. Living in Orient is everything she wants it to be. That is until the summer comes. Her family moves out of their house so it can be rented for the summer. This is how they pays for that gorgeous and expensive house. This particular summer changes everything.

I enjoyed the idea behind Ruthie living in such a glitzy place, it was similar to The Hamptons, being it is the go to place for the wealthy to get away. But as the same time, I can’t imagine having to move out my house for the entire summer either. Her daughter Jem, hates it and who could really blame her. Packing up your room and living in a house somewhere else other than the home you are for 3 quarters of the year.

A woman Adeline has rented the house for the summer, and she is all too ready to just step right in Ruthie’s place and her life. I tried to give her the benefit of the doubt, that she was just a woman vacationing, the problem is I just couldn’t past her actions, and Mike’s as well. The living situation between Ruthie and Mike was a little on the strange side already. And it seemed that Ruthie was all too busy living the wealthy and somewhat snoody life and didn’t have much time for her daughter either.

Character wise, I had a hard time liking or even connecting with most of them. And there were a lot of them, Ruthie and Jem were the only ones I really liked. With so many characters to keep up with, I just had a hard time keeping up. I did however love the setting, it was described so well, and you just felt like you’re there. Drama, don’t even get me started on the drama. There was plenty to go around too, that I did feel awful for Ruthie and Jem a few times.

The best part and what saved this one for me was how Ruthie handled everything that was going on and the ending was better than I expected. Overall, this did make for a pretty good little read, a good for the summer one too. I might sound as I didn’t enjoy this, but I did end up enjoying it more than I thought, it just took a little time to get into. I thinks fans of the women’s fictiom genre will enjoy this one.

 

 

 

 

Review The High Season: A Novel by Judy Blundell @judymblundell @randomhouse #adult #contemporary #womensfiction #fiction #arc #review Click To Tweet

 

 

 

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

18 Responses to “Review The High Season: A Novel by Judy Blundell”

  1. verushka

    I like the idea of Ruthie pushing back, and I am curious to see how she does so. I’m glad this came together in the end, the whole situation, including the town?!? sounds like a wonderful mix!

  2. Angela

    I just got this one from the library, so I’ll have to keep in mind that it’ll take some time to get into. It does sound like a perfect summer read, though!

  3. Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    Hm, I’m a little hesitant about this one. I have zero issue with drama (bring it on! LOL) but it sounds like there aren’t too many really likable characters. That is always a stumbling block for me and typically effects my enjoyment level. Glad you enjoyed this one overall!

  4. Lily

    seems to be the general opinion on this book, a bit disappointing. Sorry you couldn’t really connect to any of the characters

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.