Jun 29 2018
18

Review for All These Beautiful Strangers by Elizabeth Klehfoth

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Reviews / 18 Comments

Review for All These Beautiful Strangers by Elizabeth KlehfothAll These Beautiful Strangers by Elizabeth Klehfoth
Published by Penguin on July 12th 2018
Genres: Young Adult, Thriller, Suspense
Pages: 512
Format: Kindle
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

Beneath the glittering heights of the rich and powerful, lie secrets that can destroy them all...

The perfect summer beach read, for fans of Cruel Intentions, The Secret History and One of Us is Lying.

Charlie Calloway has a life most people would kill for. A tight knit family. A loyal set of friends. A fast-track to whichever college she chooses.

But Charlie isn't interested in what most people want.

She's a Calloway. She's special. And she's been taught to want more.

So when she's invited to join an exclusive secret society, her determination to get in is matched only by her conviction that she belongs there.

But behind their mysterious facade is a history of lies which unravels everything Charlie thought she knew... including the story behind her mother's disappearance ten years ago.

 

 

 

 
All These Beautiful Strangers was a mystery set in an elite boarding school with a mystery needing to solved. Charlie Calloway’s mother Grace went missing years ago and all she has to do is piece the clues all together and maybe she’ll get the answers she so desperately wants even if it means becoming part of the secret society that runs the school.

Charlie is the character you love to hate. The uppity, rich girl, self righteous type. Who at first I thought was only out for herself. But overtime, I began to actually like her a little more than I thought I would. She made for a pretty interesting character with all her flaws. Can’t say that much for some of the other girls in the school of Knollwood Prep. There was a lot for her learn about herself and her parents relationship too. So she has to do what she had to do, I guess.

This story is told in multiple time lines and POV’s as well. It did at times get a little confusing, but th confusion didn’t last and I was able to put it all together and it worked well for this type of story. While reading this, I certainly did get the Pretty Little Liars vibe. The whole mean girl aspect with drama filling the pages. But at the heart of the story was the mysterious disappearance of Charlie’s Mother. The secret society I mentioned earlier played a part in the mystery too, even if they were was a bunch of girls who looked down on those who weren’t as fortunate as they were, and the things they did to them was just awful and I found myself getting so irritated with their actions, but I digress. I just wanted Charlie to find the answers she needed.

When I reached the end, and it was a long time getting to it, this is one long books, it seemed to be more of a YA read than and an adult read for me. Maybe I wasn’t the target reader after all. But it was certainly entertaining to follow Charlie on her quest for answers. And I did have some issues with some of the characters and actions and events that took place, the overall story was a fairly entertaining read. The mystery aspect is mainly what kept me reading. I even wanted to know that happened with Grace.

In the end, I ended up enjoying a little more that I thought I would when I first started reading it. And I believe fans of Pretty Little Liars and the Cruel Intentions type reads will enjoy this one.

 

 

 

 

Review for All These Beautiful Strangers by Elizabeth Klehfoth @lizklehfoth @penguinusa #adult #chic-lit #womensfiction #fiction #arc #review Click To Tweet

 

 

 

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

18 Responses to “Review for All These Beautiful Strangers by Elizabeth Klehfoth”

  1. Naomi Hop

    Good to see your opinion of Charlie changes throughout the story!
    Interesting to see there were a lot of perspectives and timelines, although it would make you head spin a little.

  2. Sophia Rose

    I’ve had those books where my expectations had to alter for me to get something out of the book. Glad the heroine grew on you as you kept going.

  3. Angela

    I like the boarding school setting, that’s pretty new for me. Charlie sounds kind of obnoxious, so I’m glad to hear she grew on you!

  4. Mary Kirkland

    That sounds interesting. My daughter used to watch Pretty Little Liars but I never liked it. Doesn’t sound like a book I would like but glad you did.

  5. Sam@WLABB

    I saw boarding school, and had to know more. Hmm, this has so many great elements. I am surprised it was just middle of the road.

  6. Sophia @ Bookwyrming Thoughts

    I’m glad you enjoyed this one, Jenea! I don’t think I would have liked Charlie either, but at least she changes for the better. 🤗

    I’m not sure how I’ll feel about multiple views and timelines though…

  7. Mary @StackingMyBookShelves!

    This sounds interesting to me. I don’t know if you have read People Like US. This kind of sounds like that type of book with the rich girl thing and the Pretty Little Liars vibe. I will put this on my TBR! Great review!

    Mary

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.