Aug 30 2018
16

Review for Trouble Brewing by Suzanne Baltsar

Posted by Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession in Uncategorized / 16 Comments

Review for Trouble Brewing by Suzanne BaltsarTrouble Brewing by Suzanne Baltsar
Published by Gallery Books on September 25th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 320
Format: Kindle
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

This sweet, savory, and satisfying novel—perfect for fans of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert—follows a smart, ambitious woman making her way in the male-dominated world of beer brewing.Piper Williams is used to being the only woman in a room full of men, but she isn’t used to being instantly drawn to someone she’s in business with.

After working long hours brewing in her garage, Piper is determined to prove herself—and to ignore the chemistry she has with Blake Reed, owner of Minnesota’s newest gastropub who is going to stock four of her brews. She wants her craft beer to stand on its own merits and knows that the tight-knit male-dominated brewer community will assume the worst if she starts anything with one of her vendors. No way she’ll risk everything she’s invested in her budding business on a guy who might not stick—no matter how charmingly handsome and funny he is, right?

And Blake has a conflict of his own—his haughty family wants him to ditch the gastropub and support his father’s political campaign. Well, that, and the fact that he knows Piper’s snark and sass is the perfect blend of crisp and refreshing for him. So Blake and Piper make a pact: she’ll go out with him if, and only if, two additional pubs start carrying her beer. Sticking to the pact proves harder than either of them expected—especially since the attraction is off the charts between quirky, independent Piper and smart, charming Blake.

Then Piper gets a once-in-a-lifetime offer that could launch her company to the next level—and take her away from Blake. Are she and Blake just drunk in love, or do they have something real that’s worth risking her dreams for?

 

 

 

 

Trouble Brewing tells us the story of Piper and Blake who are just trying to make it in their dream jobs. Piper has dreamt of becoming a successful beer brewer while Blake is working hard to make his new Gastro Pub a success.

Piper is a characters that can frustrate you and make you root for all at the same time. She is extremely independent and strong as well. She is a woman who wants no outside help when it comes to her brewery business. At first I I had a hard time with her stubburness when it came to help but With a few things that took places, I began to understand her way of thinking. I really grew t enjoy her character.

Blake comes from money and is suppose to be going into the family business, when he decides to follow his own dream. The Gastro Pub is his baby. He’s worked hard too. But going against your family has it’s down side for him. I have to say that I really enjoy him, he was genuinely a good guy and was quite smitten with Piper from the start.

It was apparent from the start that these two have some chemistry from their first interaction. But of course Piper wasn’t having it at first. She was so determined to make it on her own. She wanted people to love her beer and not think that she got where she was because of a relationship with an owner. I could completely understand that! She offered a dream job though, so I was curious to see if she would take and walk away from her current business and the sweet little romance blooming between Blake and her. Plus, I wondered if she would ever give in to her feelings too. Now were plenty of bumps along before we get to the end, from the family to other brewers interfering. But it just made this even better seeing how these two would handle what life had to throw at them.

I have to say a little something about the secondary characters, Bear and Connor of course were always there for Blake. And best friend Sonja, wow was she a feisty one but ever supportive and protective of Piper. To me these characters really didn’t feel like they were side characters. They all had their parts in this story and were such a great addition. Plus the slow burning romance between two of them was too. Overall, this turned out to be such a sweet romance and fans of the genre will hopefully enjoy it as much as I did.

 

 

#Sassy, #Sweet, #Romance... Trouble Brewing by Suzanne Baltsar @suzmwrites @GalleryBooks #adult #contemporary #romance #fiction #arc #review Click To Tweet

 

 

 

Jenea @ Jenea's Book Obsession

16 Responses to “Review for Trouble Brewing by Suzanne Baltsar”

  1. Verushka Byrow

    A beer brewer? This is the coolest — and most unusual occupations I’ve seen in a book I must admit! This sounds like a fun read, and Piper sounds like so much fun — and relatable too!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.