Posts Categorized: Reviews

Aug 24 2017
19

Review for The Truth We Bury by Barbara Taylor Sissel

Review for The Truth We Bury by Barbara Taylor Sissel

The Truth We Bury: A Novel by Barbara Taylor Sissel Published by Lake Union Publishing on January 1st 1970 Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Suspense Pages: 306 Format: Kindle Buy on Amazon Goodreads

On the outside, Lily Isley’s life seems perfect: a wealthy husband, a ritzy gated community in Dallas, and a handsome son, AJ—a decorated marine about to be married to his love, Shea. But when a bridesmaid is murdered in AJ’s apartment and he can’t be found, Lily’s world collapses and a long-held family secret is at risk of exposure.

Dru Gallagher’s life took a different course. After her ex-husband, suffering from post-traumatic stress, threatened her and her …

Aug 22 2017
12

Release Day Review for Falsies (The Makeup Series, #1) by Olive East

Release Day Review for Falsies (The Makeup Series, #1) by Olive East

Falsies (The Makeup Series, #1) by Olive East Series: The Makeup Series, #1 Published by Limitless Publishing on August 22nd 2017 Genres: New Adult, Romance Pages: 314 Buy on Amazon Goodreads

When Brooks walks into my life, I can’t keep from wanting him. He’s perfection—a sexy veterinary student who knows how to cook and always cheers me up when I’m down. But I don’t deserve a man like him. There’s a darkness in me that no one could ever love, and I know he’ll abandon me, just like everyone I’ve ever cared about. Just like my father. I wouldn’t be able to stand that hurt, so I push him …

Aug 18 2017
13

Review for Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles Trilogy #1) by Jodi Meadows

Review for Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles Trilogy #1) by Jodi Meadows

Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows Published by Katherine Tegen Books on September 12th 2017 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy Pages: 496 Buy on Amazon Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling co-author of My Lady Jane comes a smoldering new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore about a girl condemned for defending dragons and the inner fire that may be her only chance of escape.

Mira has always been a symbol of hope for the Fallen Isles, perfect and beautiful—or at least that’s how she’s forced to appear. But when she uncovers a dangerous secret, Mira is betrayed by those closest to her and sentenced to the …

Aug 15 2017
15

Review for Beneath the Surface by Sibel Hodge

Review for Beneath the Surface by Sibel Hodge

Beneath the Surface by Sibel Hodge Published by Thomas & Mercer on January 1st 1970 Genres: Adult, Suspense, Thriller, Mystery Pages: 338 Format: Kindle Source: Kindle Unlimited Buy on Amazon Goodreads

Dean Hudson didn’t look evil…so what could drive an ordinary boy to kill?

When the teenage son of Holly Gold’s school friend brutally murders his parents before killing himself, her sleepy home town is rocked by the sudden tragedy.

Appalled, Holly investigates. What could have caused the happy-go-lucky boy she remembers to commit such a heinous crime? When another teen commits suicide, she uncovers a horrifying link between the recent deaths and a dark conspiracy to …

Aug 14 2017
13

Review for Something Like Happy by Eva Woods

Review for Something Like Happy by Eva Woods

Something Like Happy by Eva Woods Published by Graydon House on September 5th 2017 Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Fiction, Chic Lit Pages: 400 Buy on Amazon Goodreads

With wry wit and boundless heart, Eva Woods delivers an unforgettable tale of celebrating triumphs great and small, seizing the day, and always remembering to live in the moment.

“It’s simple, really. You’re just meant to do one thing every day that makes you happy. Could be little things. Could be big. In fact, we’re doing one right now…”

Annie Hebden is stuck. Stuck in her boring job, with her irritating roommate, in a life no thirty-five-year-old would want. But deep down, Annie is still …

Aug 11 2017
11

Review for Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil

Review for Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil

Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil Published by Amazon Digital Services on January 22nd 2017 Genres: Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense Pages: 416 Format: Kindle Buy on Amazon Goodreads

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son’s red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year – a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned.

His body was never recovered.

Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She’s married, pregnant, and in control again…

… until Aiden returns.

Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions …

Aug 08 2017
14

Review for A Beautiful Poison by Lydia Kang

Review for A Beautiful Poison by Lydia Kang

A Beautiful Poison by Lydia Kang Published by Lake Union Publishing on August 1st 2017 Genres: Adult, Historical, Mystery Pages: 350 Buy on Amazon Goodreads

Just beyond the Gilded Age, in the mist-covered streets of New York, the deadly Spanish influenza ripples through the city. But with so many victims in her close circle, young socialite Allene questions if the flu is really to blame. All appear to have been poisoned—and every death was accompanied by a mysterious note.

Desperate for answers and dreading her own engagement to a wealthy gentleman, Allene returns to her passion for scientific discovery and recruits her long-lost friends, Jasper and Birdie, for help. The investigation …