Posts Tagged: Historical

Sep 07 2018
19

Review for The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston

Review for The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston

The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston Published by St. Martin’s Press on October 2nd 2018 Genres: Adult, Historical, Romance Pages: 336 Format: Paperback Buy on Amazon Goodreads

A new series about a young woman whose connection to antiques takes her on a magical adventure, reminiscent of Outlander

New York Times bestselling author of The Witch’s Daughter Paula Brackston returns to her trademark blend of magic and romance to launch a new series guaranteed to enchant her audience even more.

Xanthe and her mother Flora leave London behind for a fresh start, taking over an antique shop in the historic town of Marlborough. Xanthe has always had an affinity …

Jul 31 2018
8

Review for The Butterfly Conspiracy (A Merriweather and Royston Mystery #1) by Vivian Conroy

Review for The Butterfly Conspiracy (A Merriweather and Royston Mystery #1) by Vivian Conroy

The Butterfly Conspiracy (A Merriweather and Royston Mystery #1) by Vivian Conroy Published by Crooked Lane Books on August 7th 2018 Genres: Adult, Historical, Mystery, Amateur Sleuths Format: Kindle Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn’s Veronica Speedwell mysteries comes the enchanting series debut from Vivian Conroy, The Butterfly Conspiracy.

In late Victorian times, when new inventions cause both excitement and terror, a mysterious death at a zoological lecture brings together two unlikely allies in a quest through London’s upper crust and underbelly to unravel the ingenious murder method and killer behind it.

Miss Merula Merriweather is not like other women her age: …

Jul 27 2018
13

Review for The Summer Wives by Beatriz Williams

Review for The Summer Wives by Beatriz Williams

The Summer Wives by Beatriz Williams on July 10th 2018 Genres: Adult, Historical, Mystery Pages: 384 Format: Kindle Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams brings us the blockbuster novel of the season—a spellbinding novel of romance, murder, class, power, and dark secrets set in the 1950s and ’60s among the rarified world of a resort island in the Long Island Sound . . .

In the summer of 1951, Miranda Schuyler arrives on elite, secretive Winthrop Island in Long Island Sound as a naive eighteen year old, still reeling from the loss of her father in the Second World War. Although a graduate …

Jul 26 2018
13

Mini Review for The Beekeeper’s Promise by Fiona Valpy

Mini Review for The Beekeeper’s Promise by Fiona Valpy

The Beekeeper’s Promise by Fiona Valpy Published by Brilliance Audio on May 16th 2018 Genres: Adult, Fiction, Historical, Women’s Fiction Format: Kindle Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads

Heartbroken and hoping for a new start, Abi Howes takes a summer job in rural France at the Château Bellevue. The old château echoes with voices from the past, and soon Abi finds herself drawn to one remarkable woman’s story, a story that could change the course of her summer—and her life.

In 1938, Eliane Martin tends beehives in the garden of the beautiful Château Bellevue. In its shadow she meets Mathieu Dubosq and falls in love for the first …

Apr 27 2018
12

Review for Trouble the Water by Jacqueline Friedland

Review for Trouble the Water by Jacqueline Friedland

Trouble the Water by Jacqueline Friedland Published by SparkPress on May 8th 2018 Genres: Adult, Romance Pages: 353 Format: Kindle Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads

Abigail Milton was born into the British middle class, but her family has landed in unthinkable debt. To ease their burdens, Abby’s parents send her to America to live off the charity of their old friend, Douglas Elling.
 
When she arrives in Charleston at the age of seventeen, Abigail discovers that the man her parents raved about is a disagreeable widower who wants little to do with her. To her relief, he relegates her care to a governess, leaving her to settle into his …

Apr 16 2018
12

Review for Come from Away by Genevieve Graham

Review for Come from Away by Genevieve Graham

Come from Away by Genevieve Graham Published by Simon & Schuster on April 24th 2018 Genres: Adult, Historical, Romance, Fiction, War Times Pages: 352 Format: Kindle Source: Publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads

From the bestselling author of Tides of Honour and Promises to Keep comes a poignant novel about a young couple caught on opposite sides of the Second World War.

In the fall of 1939, Grace Baker’s three brothers, sharp and proud in their uniforms, board Canadian ships headed for a faraway war. Grace stays behind, tending to the homefront and the general store that helps keep her small Nova Scotian community running. The war, everyone …

Apr 12 2018
10

Mini Reviews for What the Moon Saw by D.L. Koontz & Blackhurst

Mini Reviews for What the Moon Saw by D.L. Koontz & Blackhurst

 

 

 

 

 

What the Moon Saw
By: D.L. Koontz
Published: March 8th 2018
By: Tule Publishing
Genre: Adult, Historical, Romance, Fiction
Pages: 319
Format: Kindle
Amazon
 

 
When newlywed FBI agent and brilliant linguist Libby Shaw is warned that her death is imminent, she’ll do anything she can to survive–even take mysterious advice to submerge in mineral water of Bedford Springs during a full moon. Libby finds herself thrust back in time to 1926, where danger and intrigue surround her. As Libby tries to adapt to her new life, she finds herself oddly drawn to the town sheriff who seems to know her far better than she knows herself. Yet he seems eerily familiar and as pieces of a past start surfacing in …